Sun. Jan. 12, 2014 – Our Lady of Fatima – Wilton, CT

Before mass this morning I was reading my book club book: “Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story“ by Ben Carson, MD. The book is his autobiography about growing up poor and becoming the chief neurosurgeon at John Hopkins. It is an amazing story of love, faith, intelligence and passion. Everything wrapped up into one. On Page 98 he says “Somewhere during that period of time I became acutely aware of an unusual ability – a divine gift, I believe – of extraordinary eye and hand coordination. It’s my belief that God gives us all gifts, special abilities that we have the privilege of developing to help us serve Him and humanity.” This  took me right back to the mass yesterday when Fr. Walter talked about using our talents to serve others. I believe nothing happens by accident and there are no such things as coincidences. I think I was meant to read those words this morning as a validation of yesterday’s message. Thanks Dr. Carson!  (Wonderful book, by the way….I highly recommend it!)

Which brings me to today: Jesus’ baptism. Although the readings were focused on Jesus’ baptism, which happened when he was older, to me it reinforces the ‘ol Mother and Chosen Son situation! All of my kids were baptized as babies, each cloaked in white – a new beginning in God’ eyes. With each of my children, Vinnie and I stood  at the altar as proud parents, along side the chosen godparents. Vincent was my son who was the exception. Vinnie and I stood in the NICU at Norwalk Hospital as the priest took water from the water fountain, blessed it, and baptized my baby boy. A nurse, whose name I don’t even know, was our only other witness. Then, we took him to the church, months later, to be “baptized” in the church with his godparents. Regardless of the specific time and place, at the moment of baptism for each of them,  I thought,  “This is my daughter/son, whom I love.”

In Matthew 3:17 this morning, the passage was read: With that, a voice from the heaven’s said, “This is my beloved Son. My favor rests on him.”

It is not that I am less amazed by my daughters, it is just that I relate more to this passage with my sons.

As a mom…..I have my own bias! My favor does rest on my own sons….even when they are a pain in the ass, even when they have disappointed me, even when they have dismissed me or ignored my desires……my sons are still the one I would choose to be my sons any day of the week! I think every mother would agree with me! There are times when someone else’s son might “look” like a better son, we would each still chose our own son!!

As a mom – I fear for my sons.  I fear I might lose them to drugs, or a woman I don’t prefer, or a jail cell, or to death! Yes, my mind goes from 0 to 100 in about 3 seconds……I worry all the time for my sons. It is a huge responsibility to raise a good productive man in this world! It is an important one and a hard one. As moms and dads, we are often competing with so many things. So it is my job to worry for my sons and stand firm in my commitment to God to raise the good men he has blessed me with!

Mrs. Carson, Ben Carson’s mom,  did it in the 60’s as a single black poor uneducated mother of two boys.

Mary did it….knowing her son’s path would lead to his death and to the resurrection of us all.

Millions of moms do it with the deck seemingly stacked against them in so many ways so often.

 

I guess I can do it, too! I pray my two boys will be successful musicians or sports center employees, good fathers, wonderful husbands, upstanding citizens, and followers of Christ.

These are my sons, whom I love, and my favor rests on them…..always!

Leave a Reply

