Friday, January 24, 2014 – St. Cecelia Church – Stamford, CT

Rita, Carleen and I had a big all day meeting to go to that didn’t start until 9am so we decided to go to church. The meeting we were facing was going to be a tough one full of challenges so we decided to start our day off with some peaceful moments.

St. Cecelia’s was beautiful! It seemed like such a mix of old and new. The priest seemed lovely and the three people in front of us (they seemed like regulars!) were so friendly. At the end of mass they turned around and chatted in order to welcome us, inquired as to where we were from, and invited us back anytime!! This was the first time this has happened since I have begun my journey of visitations. It was very nice.

I never really understood the concept of “daily mass”, but I have to say there is something to be said for starting your day without an onslaught of “Debi, do you have a minute?” type phrases that set a tone for chaos and busy-ness all day long.  I found that the mass centered me for the day…..then…….Rita, Carleen and I actually went out for breakfast!

What a civilized way to follow up a peaceful start to the day!

We talked during breakfast about our nervousness regarding the meeting and all the “what-ifs”. We tried to look at things from different angles and talk ourselves into believing it would all work out for the best. We boosted each other up believing that we would be facing the tough day together and we would all be fine.

When I got into the car to head to the meeting, I had the radio station KLOVE 96.7 playing. It is a Christian based music station that I really enjoy. The woman who was talking quoted from the bible in between two songs….Joshua 1:9 “I command you: be firm and steadfast! Do not fear nor be dismayed, for the Lord, your God, is with you wherever you go.” Talk about a direct message!!! I could not have timed it better!

I could not wait to get to the meeting room to tell Carleen to look it up on her iPad.…..I think THE BIG GUY was there at the breakfast table with us……he probably also called the three of us to mass that morning at St. Cecelia’s. And then he sent those 3 people to us to give us comfort and strength. Three is an interesting number to me!

I am a believer that NOTHING happens by “accident” or by “coincidence”. I believe “things” are orchestrated by something bigger than all of us. The message across the radio put me at peace and reminded me to let the day unfold…..we were not in it alone!

 

Leave a Reply

