Saturday, May 10, 2014 – St. Catherine of Sienna – Trumbull, CT

Here it is Wednesday already and I am just sitting down to write this past weekend’s blog. Life is so busy!!

Last Friday I was in my office. Something called to me to get up and look through my book case. I was honestly looking for nothing in particular; I just needed a quick read for the weekend. A book caught my eye. I am not sure where it came from or how long it had been sitting on my shelf. It is called The Way of the Shepherd: 7 Ancient Secrets to Managing Productive People by Kevin Leman and William Pentak. Needless to say, I pulled it out and took 15 minutes to start reading it. I am not sure what lured me to that book, but I stuck it in my bag and brought it home for the weekend. I will finish reading it this week I hope!

This past Saturday, Mom, Dad, and Vinnie came with me to Mass. Ironically, almost exactly 24 hours after I left my office on Friday afternoon, the gospel was about The Good Shepherd – John 10:1-10. The image of the shepherd always watching over his sheep is a beautiful one I have seen many times in my lifetime. It is reassuring in the thought that “all will be well”. The image of Christ watching over us for always is soothing. He knows us each by name, even when we stray or try to hide. He calls to us and He will wait patiently until we come back to Him. Pretty nice image. It makes me feel safe in this world.

As the priest, Fr. Darius, spoke of the homily, I thought about the image of Christ as the Good Shepherd and the book I took home for the weekend and it struck me how much “shepherding” I do on a given day. As the mom at home and the teacher and the administrator at work, my primary jobs focus on nurturing and protecting many individuals – kids and adults alike! I need to know their needs, their wants, their goals, their strengths, and their weaknesses. I need to know their names and the names of people they are connected to. They use me as a resource, a sounding board, and a cheerleader. They want me to give them support, guidance, feedback, and most of all…love.

I hope that I am a good shepherd to the people who rely on me to protect and nurture them every day. It is a hard image to live up to, but I have a pretty good role model to look up to!!

One thought on “Saturday, May 10, 2014 – St. Catherine of Sienna – Trumbull, CT

Leave a Reply

