Sunday, July 27, 2014 – Our Lady of the Assumption – Fairfield, CT

OK, I have to be honest. I have no idea what the mass was about. My mind was somewhere else. I stood, I sat, I spoke the prayers. I kneeled, I waved the sign of peace to strangers, I tried to listen to the priest. My mind was not there.

My mind was 22 years away. It was back to the day Kevin was born, July 27, 1992. My first son to join our family of mom, dad, and 2 sisters. He was so freaking cute!! 6:11 in the morning I held him for the first time. Sitting in church, I kept thinking back to that day. It seems like a blur speeding back in time. He has grown into such a good guy! I love spending time with him….although I am hoping (and not too secretly!) that he will move out soon! It is time…he is 22 after all!!

I thought about the poems I wrote for my kids when they were little. All 4 are titled the same thing: What I see when I look into your eyes. I reread Kevin’s when I got home.

What I see when I look into your eyes
by D. Boccanfuso (MOM!) July 2001.
What I see when I look into your eyes
Is a child ready for action
Ready, for the world to meet him
Ready, to make the world smile
Ready, to be the third in line.

What I see when I look into your eyes
Is the intense stare until the smile cracks
The giggle starting, then overflowing
The humorous thoughts revealed through a tiny twinkle.

What I see when I look into your eyes
Is the future with hopes and dreams
Frustrations and failures turned upside down and whole
Successes and triumphs, working hard to attain
Laughter and love, in a very special way.

What I see when I look into your eyes
Is the boy with pneumonia and Barney doll in hand
Growing into a man with strong determination, manners, and courage.
He’s the one to make me smile when my world seems to crash
And the one who makes me crazy when my world seems sane.

What I see when I look into your eyes
Is a kind, gentle, fun spirit
With a mischievous touch; never meaning to harm a soul
Wanting the world to laugh
He’s a comedian, friend, and great source of joy.

What I see when I look into your eyes of the future
Is a man who will forever touch and change the lives of many.
Love, Mom.
And then I fast forward to “tomorrow”, July 28th! One year since Steph and Anthony got married. And July 31st, Melissa’s 24th birthday!

Amazing. I have no idea where time comes from or goes to. I just know it seems like it moves faster than I can catch it. It seems strange that my oldest is married one year and my #3 kid is 22!

So I have no idea what the priest was talking about, but I do know I love Kevin! Happy Birthday!

2 thoughts on “Sunday, July 27, 2014 – Our Lady of the Assumption – Fairfield, CT

Leave a Reply

