Sunday, August, 17, 2014 – St. Mark – Stratford, CT

I headed to Stratford alone, on a mission. I was determined to hit two masses on the gorgeous Sunday morning. I hit St. Mark’s first.

I am glad I did!!

The deacon spoke about a book called, The Harbinger. It is about the predictions based on passages about what is to come. He tied together the omens set forth in this book and linked them to the turmoil of the Middle East region for the past 2700 years! He talked about ISIS being Satan still alive in the world. It was like a history, bible, and political lesson all wrapped together! He went on for about 20 minutes, but to be honest, I could have listened all day. It amazes me how much I don’t know…..yet I try my best to keep up with our world’s crises, story lines, and current events! This guy sounded so intelligent. He closed by warning us to stay vigilant and protect our faith in our families, our community, our country and our world!

He was awesome to listen to, but it makes me so sad to think of the people who have no faith in a God that is so present to so many. Then I thought about how many times I see God in the people around me, but I don’t think about staying vigilant to the evil that comes through others as well. I think I would prefer to just see the more positive angle. But he did make me perk up a little!!

Right after the homily and into the Liturgy of the Eucharist I shot out to make it across Stratford to Our Lady of Peace.

I thought it was ironic that I was leaving a church that closed the homily with the prayer to St. Michael the Archangel to protect us from Satan and the evil occurring in the Middle East and throughout the world to head to a church called “Our Lady of Peace”.

Leave a Reply

