Sunday, October 19, 2014 – St. Roch Parish – Greenwich, CT

Liz and I went off to St. Roch’s bright and early. This is the church she was Baptized in. In fact, her whole family has a strong connection and love for this parish! It was like she was taking me home to meet her childhood. I LOVED IT!!!

The priest spoke about loyalty to Cesar (a leader and/or material things) vs. loyalty to God based on the reading that ends with “Give Cesar what is Cesar’s and give to God what is God’s.” He talked about when things are fine and everything seems balanced in your world, it is no big deal and we just go on our way assuming we are provided with what we need and give what we can give. The problem arises when a conflict in those two worlds (country vs. God, material things vs. God, a leader’s politics vs. God, etc) THEN….where does our loyalty land?? To God first??

I hate to admit it, but if I am being honest, for me the answer is not usually to God first. I like to say that God would be first, but if push came to shove, I am not sure how frequently I’d land there. Great debate to think about. I am not sure how different or how similar my decisions, which would reveal my loyalty, would be from my family and friends’ decisions. Good to think about it. I like the way he framed it all!!

The priest seemed like a very nice man, but he announced that he would be leaving the parish to go back to the hospital as the chaplain. When we were leaving we were chatting with him. He was very sweet as he said, “Please pray for me.” Made me have a moment of emotions! Very sweet!!

Then the highlight of the day came! Liz and I went out for breakfast! I love diners and so does she. We are a good pair! I had an order of corned beef hash for the first time since April….and order of my own. It was delicious!! Great morning, great mass, great food, but the best of all is a great friend!!

Leave a Reply

