Saturday, Jan. 28, 2017 – A “Tangled Vine” Celebration

Saturday, Jan. 28, 2017 – A “Tangled Vine” Celebration

Last week, Pete called Vinnie to invite us to see his favorite band, TANGLED VINE. They were playing in Norwalk and it was going to be his, and his wife Karen’s, birthday. Both are turning 55. This was probably the 3rd or 4th time Pete has invited us to see this band and we have never gone. Last night we joined them!

A group of us started at Partner’s Cafe. Some of us were related by blood, some by marriage, some through softball, and some through elementary school. When we left there and went to the second floor of Peaches, another party was celebrating a family member. That family member was a long time friend of Vinnie’s from high school. They have planed reunions together, have shared bottles of wine together, and laughed many times together.  She is also the cousin to the in-laws of my daughter who were also there celebrating with her. My daughter’s friend was there with her fiancee and I chatted with a mom of my other daughter’s friend who I haven’t seen in about 10 years who is again connected to my daughter’s mother in law.  My sister chatted and danced with two friends from high school and reminisced about events at Brien McMahon that occurred over 35 years ago. Around the room some people I recognized and many who I didn’t,  danced to the music of TANGLED VINE, held drinks, hugged and reconnected.   Lifetimes of friendships, families and acquaintances were being refreshed, refueled and revisited in the handshakes and the talking over the band playing Led Zeppelin.

As I snapped a picture of Vinnie and Karen, I thought about the fact that they were in Kindergarten together and have stories that are so intertwined in ways that go very deep and are impossible to peel apart. And, as I think about last night, simply saying YES to go hear a band, I can’t help but to smile in thinking about how grateful I am to be a part of a tangled vine of people who fit together in ways that are impossible to separate.

I am eternally grateful for the tangled vine of people I am connected with who all hold a deep love for each other every day!

And I am thankful that we went with several from my tangled vines to go hear TANGLED VINE….They were awesome!

 

Leave a Reply

