Sunday, February 19, 2017 – “Sunday is PASTA DAY!”

Sunday, February 19, 2017 – “Sunday is PASTA DAY!”

On Friday, Feb. 17th, Leslie, Danny and I were on our way to South Carolina to give a surprise visit to Mom and Dad. We were just into Virginia on I-95 when I was thinking about something I have never done before…..make pasta!  I asked Danny if he had a pasta machine I could borrow at some point and he said, “Phooey! You don’t need a machine! I make it all the time!”. Who knew??

So we decided he would show me how and I would make it for dinner on Sunday at Mom and Dad’s house! A simple recipe was all we needed and we were set to go.

I mixed the 2 cups of flour with 1/2 tsp. of salt. Then I beat two eggs with 1/3 cup of water and 1 tsp. of oil.  When I mixed the wet and dry ingredients together, the dough formed into a gooey ball. Danny coached me to continue to add a little more flour to get it just to the right consistency! When it was just perfect, I had to wrap it in Saran Wrap and let it sit for about a half hour or so. Danny told me that we had to give it a little time to “let the glutens relax”!

Leslie, Mom and I went off to Line Dancing and came back to finish cooking our pasta dinner! Danny showed me how to stretch the dough out with a rolling pin….but we didn’t have one….so a wine bottle did just the same trick! A nice thin flat dough was then cut with a pizza cutter to just the right widths. It was not even close to being even cuts, but Danny assured me that this did not matter!

The lightly salted water came to a rolling boil and I dropped the strips of dough into it. Within about 5 minutes or less, the pasta strips floated to the top and our spaghetti was done!

Covered in a wonderful meat sauce Mom had made, the dinner was delicious! I had NO IDEA how easy it was to make pasta!!

On Monday, we were back on the road to head home.  I was already an hour on the road when I realized I had forgotten the serving I had saved for Vinnie in Mom’s refrigerator in South Carolina! So, on Tuesday, Feb. 21st, I made another batch for Vinnie. By then I was feeling like a pro so I made homemade manicotti to go with it!

Delicious!

Leave a Reply

