Friday, March 17, 2017 – St. Patty’s Day Parade! YAY!

Friday, March 17, 2017 – St. Patty’s Day Parade! YAY!

Two years ago on St. Patty’s Day, I was parasailing with Vinnie in Key West. Last year, I was at work dreaming of being somewhere else…anywhere else!!

If you had told me last year on St. Patty’s Day that this St. Patty’s Day I would be retired from Darien, working in Bridgeport, walking in a parade with 100 8th graders, being cheered on by 200 4th through 7th graders, and carrying my grandson, I would have told you you were crazy! But there I was with a Shamrock sticker and an Irish sweater…in the parade on a school day!! Life is good!

I have never been in a St. Patty’s Day parade. Actually, I have only been to two St. Patty’s Day parades in my life! One was NYC in 1981. The other was in Stamford in 1990. In NYC, we watched a little and bar hopped a lot! In Stamford, we bar hopped a little and Vinnie had to wipe 9-month-old Stephanie’s baby-puke off the back of my brand new leather jacket!

This year was different; almost surreal. It was like playing hooky with the full support of everyone! My Superintendent was in the car in front of us waving to the crowd and feeling the love right along side of us all!

Coming around the corner, there was Stephanie, 27 years later, handing off her 10-month-old Baby Anthony to me. I took him in my arms for his first parade! Just he and I were sharing a FIRST in my year of living intentionally, alone in a crowd of hundreds! He didn’t know what the heck was going on….moving crowds, yelling people, strangers saying “HI Baby!”, bands playing, bagpipes whining, and the Kolbe HS Drill Team stomping their feet and singing right behind us. For Anthony, it was chaotic and bizarre. If only he had words to put to it! For me it was an amazing moment in time. A moment I would like to freeze and relive again and again. For me it was another snapshot in my life experiences that have woven together to create who I am, inside and out.  A special moment that is almost impossible to attach the right words to, even though I have so many words to choose from.

In that one hour span of my life, I felt honored to be a part of a very cool school community that is tucked inside the middle of Bridgeport and proud to be a grandma showing off “my baby”. But most importantly,  I felt very proud to be Irish!

P.S. It was my first St. Patty’s Day parade ever that I wasn’t cheering with a full pint of beer to all the Irish folks I have known and loved!  Truth be told, I did catch myself getting a bit emotional as I felt their presence with me as we walked through the streets of downtown Bridgeport!

2 thoughts on “Friday, March 17, 2017 – St. Patty’s Day Parade! YAY!

  1. Wishing you that you and your Grandson march in many more parades and be proud to be IRISH. Love the story. We never missed one until our move to SC.

    Like

Leave a Reply

