Monday, April 3, 2017 – Artwork at the MKT!

Monday, April 3, 2017 – Artwork at the MKT!

I am learning that when you live INTENTIONALLY, you start seeing the value of things you used to take for granted. You can no longer brush over the little things and only pay attention to the bigger things. The things you “always knew about someone” somehow can be seen with fresh eyes. Those eyes can belong to an artist’s mother.

Melissa found art, or perhaps, ART found Melissa. In her sophomore year of high school, she was put in Art Class “by mistake”. (For those of you who know me, you know I believe that nothing really happens by mistake. The reason might not be clear at the outset, but looking back, the universe really doesn’t make “mistakes”.) So, Melissa asked for an “open end/study hall” instead of Art, and her guidance counselor said, “Your mother will never go for that. Just take the class!” I am eternally grateful for that advice from the counselor. Melissa took the class!

Melissa’s first Art Show was at City Hall that semester. She hated that paper machete pig, but I loved it. Her senior year, she painted a mural on a hallway wall at Norwalk High School. It is still there. Two years after that “art class mistake”, the first college she applied to as a Fine Arts major, Keene State, accepted her, and off she went to be an artist! Melissa graduated in December of her senior year at college and she and I went to her first ART SHOW at a real gallery in Burbank, CA that following Spring. It was five hundred dollars per ticket for us, and $1,000 to ship her Artwork to California and back, but every second was worth it! We did rent the red Mustang convertible and I began to see the world through my daughter, the artist’s, eyes!

Fast forward five years, and thousands of photography pictures later (with almost 200 clients!), and many pieces of painted artwork later, Melissa told us about two months ago that she would be the Art Director at a new restaurant/bar opening up in Norwalk – MKT.  It would be her framed artwork for sale on the walls and her painted artwork adorning the walls. The theme is “The Stock Market” and the artwork reflects a time that she nor I really know about, but on Monday, April 3, 2017, my sisters, my cousin from Canada, my daughter and her baby, and Vinnie and I went to see her work in progress. I have to say, as I stood there taking it all in, with walls in various stages of completion,  I almost got very emotional!

I have been watching her rough sketches take shape for over 10 years. I have seen round circles become eyes and straight lines become legs. I have observed a red splash become a ribbon or a ruffle or a floor length skirt on a woman’s whose face I can’t see, but I feel somehow that I know the woman. All of these #progressshots start off as glimmers of what is to emerge. After watching for so many years, I do know that the art isn’t always created by Melissa, but it comes through her from someplace deep within or maybe even beyond her. Sometimes she is even surprised by the results, and that makes me step back and smile in amazement.

Standing there at THE MKT restaurant, I couldn’t help but think that I have been privileged to be the mother of an artist. Through the highs and lows, a talented young lady continues to emerge and I can’t wait to see how the “progress shot” of her own life will end.

I wish the best of luck to THE MKT at it opens its doors on April 28th and to Melissa, owner of EMPTY BEE ART & PHOTOGRAPHY as they both make their way in this world! I pray, for both ventures, that each day is lived INTENTIONALLY!

 

Leave a Reply

