Wednesday, April 26, 2017 – INDIGO GIRLS…..really?? OK!

Wednesday, April 26, 2017 – INDIGO GIRLS…..really?? OK!

A couple of months ago Kali had posted on Facebook, “Anyone want to go to see the Indigo Girls”. I said OK.
I had never heard of them, except through Kali who typically goes to their concerts with her daughter and refers to them as “Amy and Emily”. But I would be the one stepping in to play the role of Adrienne on Wed. April 26th. Kali has been a groupie since college. Adrienne was sweet enough to make me a playlist so I would recognize at least a song or two. Long story short, one or two songs is all I had time to listen to prior to the concert! So I went as a non-informed audience member.

I think I was the only one who was non-informed! The place ended up being a full house filled with 50-55 year old women with the exception of the 6 guys who were there with various women, I assume. We got there early, grabbed a glass of wine, and chatted with the couple at the PETITION circulation desk. We signed one or two of the petitions and we ended up realizing our paths had crossed in a time several years ago! “Small world”, we all said and Kali and I grabbed a refill and headed to our seats in the very last row of the balcony seats at Ridgefield Playhouse.

It was a first time for me hearing that particular warm up band. Honestly, I am ok with it being the last time as well, but then the INDIGO GIRLS came on stage! They took turns singing and telling musical stories of life’s highs and lows. The stage hand switched out their guitars for each song! Kali would say….”Oh, this is a good one” and I would clap along. Or Kali would say, “WOO HOO, this is my favorite!” and I would again clap along and hum to the chorus. Kali knew all the words! At one point Kali was quietly and kindly sharing a bit of a back story to one of the songs with me, when the woman (?) next to her leaned over and asked her to be quiet!  ARE YOU KIDDING ME?? WHAT ARE YOU…..55???  AT A CONCERT THAT IS LOUD and supposed to be FUN!! That crazy 55-year old should have stayed home!  If you are 55 and cool enough to be at a concert, you should be cool enough to roll with the punches a bit. Clearly, a very dear friend, and loyal follower of the Indigo Girls was trying to help out this “INDIGO GIRL CONCERT VIRGIN”…..I was NOT wearing the concert T-shirt!! It was obvious that it was a first for me!

Ultimately, I enjoyed the folk style music they played. Two songs kind of stuck with me….THE CLOSER TO FINE which is about realizing that we look in all kinds of wrong places for the answers we seek in life. The other one was GALILEO. The lyrics in the chorus are “How long ’til my soul gets it right? Can any human being ever reach the highest light?” made me think of all the times we do the same thing over and over hoping for a different outcome. We do get chances to try something new, to change something within ourselves or within our life, and yet unless we take those chances and do something else, we end up with the same results.

Thank you to Kali who was right next to me as we both enjoyed a night out with two of her best friends, Amy and Emily. It was another “first” for me this year!

I can honestly say that I have enjoyed being in the audience of an INIGO GIRL concert!!

What a fun night!

 

Leave a Reply

