SUNDAY, JULY 9, 2017 – LITCHFIELD HILLS BLUEBERRY FARM! DELICIOUS!

SUNDAY, JULY 9, 2017 – LITCHFIELD HILLS BLUEBERRY FARM! DELICIOUS!

I have decided that I will recognize Heaven when I get there! (Yes, I am assuming I will be getting there someday!). I actually believe I found it this morning!

Yesterday, Barb and Christine took the girls blueberry picking. It was at a little farm not far from our home in Plymouth, CT. I could not go though. So when I saw them return to the house with those delicious “Nature’s Orbs of Goodness” as my brother refers to them, I knew I had to get up and go on Sunday morning. So I went and found the little farm all by myself and picked away!

I have been blueberry picking before, apple picking before, pumpkin and strawberry picking before. In Italy, I have picked lemons, figs, peaches and neshpoli (spelling!!!!??) right off the tree. Growing up my mom had a garden and we picked all kinds of vegetables and in Italy, with my father-in-law, we picked different vegetables from his garden. In my own gardens, the only thing I have ever picked is WEEDS!!

On this beautiful morning at about 10am, though, I picked alone.  I have never done that, and I have to admit, I loved it!

The gentleman at the counter asked, “Ever been here before?”

I had answered, “No. Tell me how it works.”

“The rules are simple. Fill the bucket for $24 or any part of it for whatever it says on this little chart”, he said as he pointed. The prices were all spelled out. He went on to say, “Pick from anywhere you want. The flags simply identify where there are some full bushes, but whatever bush you pick from, please try to pick all the good ones off it. It is good for the trees.”.

OK….simple enough! And off I went with my orange bucket.

I took three steps into the blueberry fields, and had to stop, catch my breath and take it all in. The mist was lingering just for a few minutes longer as the new sun forced it’s way through. Just below the low lying mist cloud, the bushes spread out in random rows in three directions….to my left, my right, and straight ahead. The sun’s rays just barely skimmed the tops of the bushes making the leaves shimmer just a bit. And there they were, big blue ORBS OF GOODNESS , on every bush. Soon, the mist said good-bye to the sun’s advances and hundreds of blueberry bushes revealed their products. They were there for the taking!

I began to wander through the bushes, picking the biggest ones and plopping them into my bucket. I have to be honest though. It went something like this in my head…..Ten for the bucket and one for me, ten for the bucket and one for me! This rhythm added a whole new meaning to “Breakfast on the go!”

As I silently picked, the world just steps away from me became more and more awake. The birds chirped and two women nearby chatted about the daily highs and lows they were going through. Two other women were clearly on summer vacation from working as teachers and were discussing their upcoming year’s schedule. I walked away from them and back into my own space. Another woman was describing the vanilla ice cream she had last night at 10pm that was drowning in strawberry syrup, chocolate fudge and walnuts. This almost sounded better than my blueberries until I popped another one into my mouth!! And finally on my way back with my almost full bucket, a grandmother and granddaughter were debating the likelihood that poison ivy was growing around one of the bushes. A very sweet and innocent conversation was being overheard, and nobody cared. We were all there for the berries on a peaceful Sunday morning!

As I approached the counter again with my $24 worth of blueberries, I said a little prayer of thanks for such a peaceful way to start my day. And then I said a big prayer of hope. My hope is that Heaven is just one huge Blueberry Farm when I finally get there!!

Leave a Reply

